The Tsar’s Chambers were erected at the end of the 17th century. By its outside appearance the edifice matches the Refectory Church. It was used by pilgrims from the Royal family. In the 18th century the vaults of the Chambers were decorated with fine stucco and carvings.
The pious Empress Elizabeth, who often visited the Trinity Monastery, founded the Seminary in the Chambers in 1742. By a special order she gave the Trinity Monastery the title of honour “Lavra” in 1744.
In 1814 the Theological Academy was transferred from Moscow to the Lavra, and a new complex of buildings for the needs of the Schools appeared. At present the Tsar’s Chambers belong to the Academy.
The Church Archaeological Museum and the Church of the Intercession of the Holy Virgin are situated in the Tsar’s Chambers. The wall paintings were created in 19871988 by the iconographers of the local Icon Painting School.
The Holy Trinity-St. Sergius Lavra is a unique monument of the fortress architecture of the 16th17 th centuries. The walls have 3 tiers, the towers have up to 6 tiers. The first tier was built by the tsar Ivan IV in the 16th century, the second and the third ones — in the 17th century, after the Polish siege.
The Church above the gateway, dedicated to the Nativity of St. John the Baptist, was built in 16931699. At present, confessions for the pilgrims are performed in it every morning.